

Joanne Roney OBE
Chief Executive
Telephone: 0161 234 3006
j.roney@manchester.gov.uk
PO Box 532, Town Hall
Extension, Manchester
M60 2LA

Tuesday, 10 May 2022

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Meeting of the Council – Wednesday, 18th May, 2022

You are summoned to attend a meeting of the Council which will be held at 10.00 am on Wednesday, 18th May, 2022, in The Council Chamber, Level 2, Town Hall Extension.

1. Election of the Lord Mayor of Manchester

To elect the Lord Mayor of Manchester for the 2022/23 Municipal Year.

2. Vote of Thanks

To adopt a resolution of thanks for the retiring Lord Mayor.

3. Appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor

To appoint a Deputy Lord Mayor for the 2022/23 Municipal Year.

4. The Lord Mayor's Announcements and Special Business

5. **Minutes** 5 - 14

To submit for approval the minutes of the meeting held on 30 March 2022.

6. Interests

To allow Members an opportunity to declare any personal, prejudicial or disclosable pecuniary interest they might have in any items which appear on this agenda; and record any items from which they are precluded from voting as a result of Council Tax or Council rent arrears. Members with a personal interest should declare that at the start of the item under consideration. If members also have a prejudicial or disclosable pecuniary interest they must withdraw from the meeting during the consideration of the item.

7. Seniority of Councillors

The statement of the City Solicitor concerning the seniority of councillors is to follow.

8. Leader of the Council

To elect the Leader of the Council.

9. Establishment of a Housing Advisory Committee

Report of the Strategic Director (Growth and Development) attached

10. Appointment of Committees and Chairs

To approve the appointment of Members of the following -

Art Galleries Committee Audit Committee

Employee Appeals Committee Executive Standing Consultative Panel

Health & Wellbeing Board Housing Advisory Committee
Licensing Committee Licensing & Appeals Committee

Licensing Policy Committee Personnel Committee

Planning & Highways Committee Standards Committee (incl the Nominated Spokesperson)

Scrutiny Committees:-

Children & Young People Communities & Equalities

Environment & Climate Change Economy

Health Resources and Governance

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 18 May 2022 – circulated in advance of the meeting).

11. Appointments to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees

To approve appointment of representatives to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees.

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 18 May 2022 – circulated in advance of the meeting).

12. Review of Members Allowances

Report to follow

13. Dates of Council meetings

To agree the dates of ordinary meetings of the Council in 2022/23:

Wednesday 13 July 2022 Wednesday 1 February 2023 Wednesday 5 October 2022 Friday 3 March 2023 (Budget) Wednesday 30 November 2022 Wednesday 29 March 2023

and that the Annual Meeting of the Council 2023 will be on 17 May 2023.

Yours faithfully,

Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Six individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors:-

T Judge (Chair), Abdullatif, Akbar, Azra Ali, Ahmed Ali, Nasrin Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Amin, Andrews, Appleby, Baker-Smith, Bano, Bayunu, Bell, Benham, Bridges, Butt, Chambers, Chohan, Collins, Connolly, Cooley, Craig, Curley, M Dar, Y Dar, Davies, Doswell, Douglas, Evans, Flanagan, Foley, Gartside, Good, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hilal, Hitchen, Holt, Hughes, Hussain, Igbon, Ilyas, Iqbal, Jeavons, Johns, Johnson, Kamal, Karney, Kirkpatrick, Lanchbury, Leech, J Lovecy, Ludford, Lynch, Lyons, McHale, Midgley, Moran, Newman, Noor, Nunney, Ogunbambo, B Priest, H Priest, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Riasat, Richards, I Robinson, T Robinson, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, M Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, Simcock, Stanton, Stogia, Taylor, Wheeler, Whiston, White, Wills, Wilson and Wright

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester -

Hugh Barrett, Andrew Fender, Audrey Jones JP, Paul Murphy OBE, Nilofar Siddiqi and Keith Whitmore.

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the meeting Clerk:

Andrew Woods Tel: 0161 234 3011

Email: andrew.woods@manchester.gov.uk

This agenda was issued on **Tuesday, 10 May 2022** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Level 2, Town Hall Extension (Library Walk Elevation), Manchester M60 2LA